UNITED STATES: For Stanton Glantz, Big Tobacco is currently taking control of the vape.

UNITED STATES: For Stanton Glantz, Big Tobacco is currently taking control of the vape.

Is the vaping industry the new tobacco industry? This statement comes from Prof. Stanton Arnold Glantz, tobacco control activist in a recent interview. According to him, Big Vape would not hesitate to use marketing methods similar to those of Big Tobacco.


Stanton Arnold Glantz is a leading tobacco control professor, author and activist in the United States

»TOBACCO MULTINATIONALS TAKE CONTROL OF VAPE! "


We expected no less from Pr Stanton Glantz known to be anti-smoking but also anti-vaping. To him things seem clear, uusing similar marketing tactics, the vaping industry is the new tobacco industry.

« FDA cracked down on some irresponsible e-cigarette companies, but multinational tobacco companies take control of e-cigarette activity "Says Dr. Stanton Glantz, a world renowned expert since the 1970s.

Among other things, Professor Glantz is conducting research on the health effects of vaping. In 1994, approximately 4 pages of internal tobacco industry documents were sent to his office. Two years later, " The Cigarette Papers Is published. In this book, the publisher Glantz and his collaborators revealed in a collection "shocking»Of industrial documents«secretsProving that Big Tobacco had known for decades that cigarettes were deadly and addictive.

For anti-tobacco activists, advertising for the vape attracts young smokers, by the time they understand that the e-cigarette is a gateway to cigarettes, it is too late.

« After cigarette manufacturers entered the vaping market, debates on e-cigarette policy increasingly resembled debates comparable to tobacco control from the 1970s to the 1990s Says Glantz.

» The tobacco market appealed to large lobbyists and to law firms. And large tobacco companies [like Philip Morris] have created and funded tobacco organizations defending the rights of smokers. "These groups were created to resemble a" popular opposition »To laws restricting smoking in public places. Altria, Marlboro cigarette maker is the largest tobacco company in the United States. It holds 35% of the shares of Juul, a company specializing in vaping products that was worth more than $ 38 billion in March 2019. Its price has now dropped to $ 24 billion after the investment by Altria.

The tobacco industry and the vaping industry are very dependent on lobbyists. Juul et Altria have made contributions to the anti-tax group of Grover norquist and in 2018, Juul has spent more than $ 1,6 million on lobbying.

Here's another similar marketing tactic: For years, the tobacco industry has been criticized for selling cigarettes to African American communities. Juul also announced a partnership with the Black Mental Health Alliance. The vaping company said its $ 35 donation to the Black Caucus Foundation involved buying a table at an event.


WITHOUT REACTION, "THE FDA WILL NOT HAVE RESPECTED ITS PUBLIC HEALTH RESPONSIBILITY"


« E-cigarettes were mainly imported from China. In 2007, the FDA seized them and declared them to be unapproved medical devices that deliver nicotine, a product that does not have FDA approval. Says Glantz.

« The company concerned sued the FDA, saying it was tobacco products, not a drug. A conservative judge agreed, saying the FDA should regulate them as tobacco products. »

Professor Stanton Glantz does not stop there: For seven years, e-cigarettes were on the market without any regulations. However, by law, it is illegal to sell a tobacco product without an FDA marketing prescription. Under pressure from a federal court, the FDA released recommendations in June 2019 from the vaping industry for filing pre-market tobacco applications (PMTA). »

Several senators have also urged the FDA to act quickly and incisively to remove from the market all tobacco products that do not meet the May 12 deadline, including products that do not submit PMTA.

« When we look at the evolution of the vaping market, including the proliferation of products that use nicotine salts, JUUL type products and disposable flavored products, it is almost certain that many products have entered illegally. FDA Failed To Protect Public Health If Deadline Applied In Same Way As Presumption Rule ", According to the Democratic American senator Dick Durbin (D-IL).

« To date, the deadline for filing tobacco applications before the sale of vaping products has been extended until September Says Glantz.

Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom

About the Author

Passionate about journalism, I decided to join the editorial team of Vapoteurs.net in 2017 in order to mainly deal with vape news in North America (Canada, United States).

Top banner
ETATS-UNIS : Pour Stanton Glantz, Big Tobacco prend actuellement le contrôle de la vape.

ETATS-UNIS : Pour Stanton Glantz, Big Tobacco prend actuellement le contrôle de la vape.

L’industrie de la vape serait-elle la nouvelle industrie du tabac ? Cette affirmation vient du Pr Stanton Arnold Glantz, activiste de la lutte antitabac dans une récente interview. Selon lui, Big Vape n’hésiterait pas à utiliser des méthodes de marketing semblable à celles de Big Tobacco.


Stanton Arnold Glantz est un professeur, auteur et militant de premier plan en matière de lutte antitabac aux États-Unis

 » LES MULTINATIONALES DU TABAC PRENNENT LE CONTRÔLE DE LA VAPE ! « 


On en attendait pas moins du Pr Stanton Glantz connu pour être antitabac mais également anti-vape. Pour lui, les choses semblent clair, utilisant des tactiques de marketing similaires, l’industrie de la vape est la nouvelle industrie du tabac.

« La FDA a sévi contre quelques sociétés d’e-cigarettes qui se sont comportées de manière très irresponsable, mais les multinationales du tabac prennent le contrôle de l’activité des e-cigarettes », explique le Dr Stanton Glantz, un expert mondialement reconnu depuis les années 1970.

Le professeur Glantz mène entre autres des recherches sur les effets de la vape sur la santé. En 1994, environ 4 000 pages de documents internes de l’industrie du tabac ont été envoyées à son bureau. Deux ans plus tard, « The Cigarette Papers » est publié. Dans ce livre, l’éditeur Glantz et ses collaborateurs ont révélé dans une collection «choquante» de documents industriels «secrets» prouvant que Big Tobacco savait depuis des décennies que les cigarettes étaient mortelles et provoquaient une dépendance.

Pour les militants anti-tabac, la publicité pour la vape attire les jeunes fumeurs, le temps qu’ils comprennent que l’e-cigarette est une passerelle vers la cigarette, c’est trop tard.

« Après l’entrée des fabricants de cigarettes sur le marché de la vape, les débats sur la politique de l’e-cigarette ressemblaient de plus en plus à des débats comparables à la lutte antitabac des années 1970 aux années 1990 », explique Glantz.

 » Le marché du tabac a fait appel à de grands lobbyistes et à des cabinets d’avocats. Et de grandes sociétés de tabac [comme Philip Morris] ont créé et financé des organisations de défense des droits des fumeurs. » Ces groupes ont été créés pour ressembler à une « opposition populaire » aux lois restreignant le tabagisme dans les lieux publics. Altria, fabricant de cigarettes Marlboro est la plus grande entreprise de tabac aux États-Unis. Elle détient 35% des parts de Juul, une société spécialisée dans les produits du vapotage qui valait plus de 38 milliards de dollars en mars 2019. Son prix est maintenant tombé à 24 milliards de dollars après l’investissement d’Altria.

L’industrie du tabac et l’industrie de la vape dépendent beaucoup des lobbyistes. Juul et Altria ont fait des contributions au groupe anti-fiscalité de Grover Norquist et en 2018, Juul a dépensé plus de 1,6 million de dollars en lobbying.

Voici une autre tactique de marketing similaire : Pendant des années, l’industrie du tabac a été critiquée pour avoir vendu des cigarettes aux communautés afro-américaines. Juul a également annoncé un partenariat avec la Black Mental Health Alliance. La société spécialisée dans la vape a déclaré que son don de 35 000 $ à la fondation du caucus noir impliquait l’achat d’une table lors d’un événement.

 


SANS RÉACTION, « LA FDA N’AURA PAS RESPECTE SA RESPONSABILITÉ DE SANTÉ PUBLIQUE »


« Les e-cigarettes ont principalement été importées de Chine. En 2007, la FDA les a saisis et a déclaré qu’il s’agissait de dispositifs médicaux non approuvés délivrant de la nicotine, un produit qui n’a pas l’approbation de la FDA », explique Glantz. 

« La société concernée a poursuivi la FDA, affirmant qu’il s’agissait de produits du tabac et non d’un médicament. Un juge conservateur a accepté, affirmant que la FDA devrait les réglementer en tant que produits du tabac. »

Le Pr Stanton Glantz ne s’arrête pas la : « Pendant sept ans, les e-cigarettes étaient sur le marché sans aucune réglementation. En vertu de la loi, il est pourtant illégal de vendre un produit du tabac sans ordonnance de commercialisation de la FDA. Sous la pression d’un tribunal fédéral, la FDA a publié en juin 2019 des recommandations de l’industrie du vapotage pour le dépôt de demandes de tabac avant commercialisation (PMTA). »

Plusieurs sénateurs ont également exhorté la FDA à agir rapidement et de manière incisive afin de retirer du marché tous les produits du tabac qui ne sont pas conformes à l’échéance du 12 mai, y compris les produits qui ne soumettent pas de PMTA.

« Quand on regarde l’évolution du marché de la vape, y compris la prolifération de produits qui utilisent des sels de nicotine, des produits de type JUUL et des produits aromatisés jetables, il est pratiquement certain que de nombreux produits sont entrés illégalement. La FDA n’aura pas respecté sa responsabilité de protéger la santé publique si l’échéance prévue est appliquée de la même manière que la règle de présomption », selon le sénateur américain démocrate Dick Durbin (D-IL).

« À ce jour,l’échéance pour le dépôt de demandes de tabac avant commercialisation des produits de la vape est repoussée jusqu’en septembre », explique Glantz.

Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom

A propos de l'auteur

Passionnée de journalisme, je me suis décidée à rejoindre la rédaction de Vapoteurs.net en 2017 afin de traiter principalement l'actualité vape en Amérique du nord (Canada, Etats-Unis).