THAILAND: Association calls for reconsideration of ban on vaping

THAILAND: Association calls for reconsideration of ban on vaping

The recent positions in Hong Kong will have given ideas to a harm reduction advocacy group in Thailand. Indeed, the group " ENDS Cigarette Smoke Thailand Asked the government to consider removing the current ban on vaping in the country.


A GENERAL PROHIBITION THAT WEIGHS HEAVY IN REDUCING RISKS!


With about two in five Thai men at risk for smoking-related illnesses, it's not surprising to see advocacy groups pushing for a harm-reducing alternative.

One of these groups, ENDS Cigarette Smoke Thailand, asked the government to follow the example of its Hong Kong counterparts and consider removing the current ban on vaping. This group is led by Asa Ace Saligupta, which is desperately trying to push decision makers to consider some studies that show that vaping can be a safer alternative.

He said Thailand should follow the example of many countries like Sweden, Norway and Japan, which saw a reduction in smoking when harm reduction product options were presented to the public. According to this group, the general ban currently taking place in the country puts an end to any potential conversation about the benefits of vaping.

The group urged that research on this subject be reviewed. They declaring to want " call on the Thai government to create an independent committee to seriously study the science, business aspects and regulatory framework of e-cigarettes ".

Asa ace Saligupta added that the blanket ban also resulted in a black market for vaping products, adding: " This has created other problems such as smuggling non-standardized and therefore uncontrolled products into the country. This thus removes the rights of e-cigarette users and leads to the inability to control the access of young people to these products. »

Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom

About the Author

Passionate about journalism, I decided to join the editorial team of Vapoteurs.net in 2017 in order to mainly deal with vape news in North America (Canada, United States).

Top banner
THAÏLANDE : Une association demande une reconsidération de l’interdiction de la vape

THAÏLANDE : Une association demande une reconsidération de l’interdiction de la vape

Les récentes prises de positions à Hong Kong auront données des idées à un groupe de défense de la réduction des risques en Thaïlande. En effet, le groupe  » ENDS Cigarette Smoke Thailand  » a demandé au gouvernement d’envisager de supprimer l’interdiction actuelle de la vape dans le pays.


UNE INTERDICTION GÉNÉRALE QUI PÈSE LOURD DANS LA RÉDUCTION DES RISQUES !


Avec environ deux hommes thaïlandais sur cinq à risque de maladies liées au tabagisme, il n’est pas surprenant de voir des groupes de défense des intérêts faire pression pour une alternative avec réduction des risques.

Un de ces groupes, ENDS Cigarette Smoke Thailand, a demandé au gouvernement de suivre l’exemple de ses homologues de Hong Kong et d’envisager de supprimer l’interdiction actuelle de la vape. Ce groupe est dirigé par Asa Ace Saligupta, qui tente désespérément de pousser les décideurs à prendre en considération certaines études qui montrent que la vape peut être une alternative plus sûre.

Selon lui, la Thaïlande doit suivre l’exemple de nombreux pays comme la Suède, la Norvège et le Japon, qui ont vu une réduction du tabagisme lorsque des options de produits à réduction des risques ont été présentées au public. Selon ce groupe, l’interdiction générale qui a actuellement lieu dans le pays met fin à toute conversation potentielle sur les avantages de la vape.

Le groupe demande instamment que les recherches à ce sujet soient examinées. Ils déclarant vouloir  » appeler le gouvernement thaïlandais à créer un comité indépendant pour étudier sérieusement la science, les aspects commerciaux et le cadre réglementaire des e-cigarettes « .

Asa Ace Saligupta a ajouté que l’interdiction globale entrainait également un marché noir pour les produits de la vape, ajoutant :  » Cela a créé d’autres problèmes tels que la contrebande de produits non standardisés et donc non contrôlés dans le pays. Cela supprime ainsi les droits des utilisateurs d’e-cigarettes et conduit à l’incapacité de contrôler l’accès des jeunes à ces produits.  »

 

Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom

A propos de l'auteur

Passionnée de journalisme, je me suis décidée à rejoindre la rédaction de Vapoteurs.net en 2017 afin de traiter principalement l'actualité vape en Amérique du nord (Canada, Etats-Unis).