Top banner
Top banner
CANADA: Quebec is preparing to go on appeal to continue to ban the e-cigarette.

CANADA: Quebec is preparing to go on appeal to continue to ban the e-cigarette.

A few weeks ago there was good news for Quebec vapers! Indeed, the Superior Court declared inoperative some sections of the law prohibiting the demonstration of vaping products inside shops and advertising on the vape. Unfortunately, and with no real surprise, the provincial government seems to be moving towards an appeal from the historic Superior Court decision rendered last month ...


DISAPPOINTMENT ? FREEDOM OF EXPRESSION BANKED BY THE GOVERNMENT OF QUÉBEC?


Presented exclusively at our colleagues Depquebec, the information presenting an imminent appeal of the historic decision of the Superior Court by the Quebec government seems to be confirmed. Requiring the government to revise some of the tobacco control sections of the bill, including the publicity and demonstration of e-cigarettes, the decision has been hotly debated in recent weeks.

«The court does not seem to have taken into account the pernicious phenomenon of vaping in young people, which is booming"Lamented Flory Doucas, co-director and spokesperson for the Quebec Coalition for Tobacco Control, while imploring the government to please appeal of this decision. In a recent communicated the Quebec Association of Vapoteries declared Vapoter is not smoking. Vaping products are not tobacco. No offense to the coalition, the Honorable Judge Dumais mentioned in his judgment, it seems justified that we do not associate tobacco electronic cigarette or one of its products. »

Yet nothing seems to change a certain "way of doing" denounced by our colleagues from Depquebec: " The fundamental freedom of expression in Quebec is of no consideration and weighs nothing in the face of the government's prerogatives in the area of ​​public health, which no one dares to lift. »

It therefore appears that the provincial government plans to appeal the historic Superior Court decision rendered last month. One of the parties involved in the trial, namely theQuebec Association of Vape Shops (AQV), had already been formally notified last week by the government that the latter intended to appeal the judgment.

Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom

About the Author

Passionate about journalism, I decided to join the editorial team of Vapoteurs.net in 2017 in order to mainly deal with vape news in North America (Canada, United States).

Laisser une réponse

Top banner
Top banner
CANADA : Le Québec se prépare à aller en appel pour continuer à interdire l’e-cigarette.

CANADA : Le Québec se prépare à aller en appel pour continuer à interdire l’e-cigarette.

Il y’a quelques semaines une bonne nouvelle arrivait pour les vapoteurs québécois ! En effet, la Cour supérieure déclarait inopérants certains articles de la loi interdisant la démonstration de produits de vapotage à l’intérieur des boutiques et la publicité sur la vape. Malheureusement et sans réelle surprise, le gouvernement provincial semble se diriger vers un appel de la décision historique de la Cour supérieure rendue le mois dernier…


UNE DÉCEPTION ? LA LIBERTÉ D’EXPRESSION BAFOUÉE PAR LE GOUVERNEMENT DE QUÉBEC ?


Présentée en exclusivité chez nos confrères de Depquebec, l’information présentant un appel imminent de la décision historique de la Cour supérieure par le gouvernement de Québec semble se confirmer. Obligeant le gouvernement à réviser certains articles de la loi concernant la lutte au tabagisme dont la publicité et la démonstration des e-cigarettes, la décision à fait grand débat ces dernières semaines.

«Le tribunal ne semble pas avoir tenu compte du phénomène pernicieux du vapotage chez les jeunes, qui est en pleine expansion», déplorait Flory Doucas, codirectrice et porte-parole de la Coalition québécoise pour le contrôle du tabac tout en implorant le gouvernement de bien vouloir faire appel de cette décision. Dans un récent communiqué l’Association Québecoise des Vapoteries  déclarait  » Vapoter n’est pas fumer. Les produits de vapotage ne sont pas du tabac. N’en déplaise à la coalition, l’Honorable juge Dumais l’a mentionné dans son jugement, il apparaît justifié que l’on n’associe pas cigarette électronique à tabac ou l’un de ses produits.  »

Pourtant rien ne semble pouvoir changer une certaine « façon de faire » que dénonce nos confrères de Depquebec : « La liberté fondamentale d’expression, au Québec, n’est d’aucune considération et ne pèse strictement rien en regard des prérogatives que s’est donné le gouvernement en matière de santé publique et face auxquelles personne n’ose lever le doigt. »

Il semble donc que le gouvernement provincial compte aller en appel de la décision historique de la Cour supérieure rendue le mois dernier. L’une des parties liées au procès, soit l’Association québécoise des vapoteries (AQV), aurait déjà été avisée formellement la semaine dernière par le gouvernement que ce dernier entendait faire appel du jugement.

Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom

A propos de l'auteur

Passionnée de journalisme, je me suis décidée à rejoindre la rédaction de Vapoteurs.net en 2017 afin de traiter principalement l'actualité vape en Amérique du nord (Canada, Etats-Unis).

Laisser une réponse