UNITED STATES: Juul increases sales after ban on certain flavored pods

UNITED STATES: Juul increases sales after ban on certain flavored pods

The giant of the American e-cigarette Juul would he be recovering from the hair of the beast? And everything points to believe it! Indeed, weeks after Juul voluntarily stopped selling part of his flavored pods, sales rebounded even breaking records!


A PROHIBITION THEN A REBOUND FOR THE AMERICAN GIANT?


Several weeks after Juul, the American giant of vaping has voluntarily stopped selling part of its flavored pods, sales have rebounded in a surprising way. In reality, sales ultimately surpassed previous records, according to new research from the American Cancer Society.

« When companies are able to make these decisions for themselves, they are theoretically listening to consumers, but they are actually making decisions that are good for the bottom line of the business, while a regulator is able to make a radical decision that can serve public health interests ", Said the principal investigator Alex Liber, principal scientist at the AEC.

As a reminder, in 2018, the FDA (Food and Drug Administration) from the United States lobbied e-cigarette manufacturers to stop selling most flavored products. Following Juul's acceptance, consumers simply switched to menthol or tobacco pods, which remained available.

Between 2017 and 2018, sales of Juul's “fruity” pods went from 13% of sales, or $ 10,2 million per month, to 33% of sales, or $ 96,5 million. These “fruity” pods have Briefly surpassed menthol as the best-selling category in October 2018, while “tobacco” pods went from 39,7% to 16,6% of sales.

Juul's voluntary decision to remove “fruity” pods in November 2018 resulted in sales of pods falling to 9%, or $ 30,5 million, in April 2019. But at the same time, flavor sales menthol and mint rose - from 33% of sales, or $ 95,5 million, to 62,5%, or $ 209,5 million, according to the researchers.

According to the recent study, Juul captured approximately 90% of the growth in tobacco, mint and menthol pod sales. Its overall sales increased more than in any other 12 week period.

Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom

About the Author

Passionate about journalism, I decided to join the editorial team of Vapoteurs.net in 2017 in order to mainly deal with vape news in North America (Canada, United States).

Top banner
Top banner
ETATS-UNIS : Juul augmente ses ventes après l’interdiction de certains pods aromatisés

ETATS-UNIS : Juul augmente ses ventes après l’interdiction de certains pods aromatisés

Le géant de l’e-cigarette américain Juul serait-il en train de reprendre du poil de la bête ? Et tout porte à le croire ! En effet, des semaines après que Juul ait volontairement cessé de vendre une partie de ses pods aromatisés, les ventes ont rebondi battant même des records !


UNE INTERDICTION PUIS UN REBOND POUR LE GEANT AMERICAIN ?


Plusieurs semaines après que Juul, le géant américain de la vape ait volontairement cessé de vendre une partie de ses pods aromatisés, les ventes ont rebondi de façon surprenante. En réalité, les ventes ont finalement dépassé les records précédents, selon une nouvelle étude de l’American Cancer Society.

« Lorsque les entreprises sont en mesure de prendre ces décisions pour elles-mêmes, elles sont théoriquement à l’écoute des consommateurs, mais elles prennent en réalité des décisions qui sont bonnes pour le résultat net de l’entreprise, tandis qu’un régulateur est capable de prendre une décision radicale qui peut servir les intérêts des la santé publique « , a déclaré le chercheur principal Alex Liber, scientifique principal à l’AEC.

Pour rappel, en 2018, la FDA (Food and Drug Administration) des États-Unis a fait pression sur les fabricants d’e-cigarettes pour qu’elles cessent de vendre la plupart des produits aromatisés. Suite à l’acceptation de Juul, les consommateurs sont simplement passés aux pods menthol ou tabac, qui restaient disponibles.

Entre 2017 et 2018, les ventes des pods « fruités » de Juul sont passées de 13% des ventes, soit 10,2 millions de dollars par mois, à 33% des ventes, soit 96,5 millions de dollars. Ces pods « fruités » ont brièvement dépassé le menthol en tant que catégorie la plus vendue en octobre 2018, tandis que les pods « tabac » passaient de 39,7% à 16,6% des ventes.

La décision volontaire de Juul de supprimer les pods « fruités » en novembre 2018 a entraîné une baisse des ventes de ceux ci à 9%, ou 30,5 millions de dollars, en avril 2019. Mais en même temps, les ventes d’arômes de menthol et de menthe ont augmenté – de 33% des ventes, ou 95,5 millions de dollars, à 62,5%, ou 209,5 millions de dollars, selon les chercheurs.

Selon la récente étude, Juul a capturé environ 90% de la croissance des ventes de pods tabac, menthe et menthol. Ses ventes globales ont augmenté plus que dans toute autre période de 12 semaines.

Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom
Com Inside Bottom

A propos de l'auteur

Passionnée de journalisme, je me suis décidée à rejoindre la rédaction de Vapoteurs.net en 2017 afin de traiter principalement l'actualité vape en Amérique du nord (Canada, Etats-Unis).